Controllable Manuals ...

Endohopper

...So I've been practicing manuals for well over 2 years now ( :$ ) and just cannae get 'em right . Yes , I HAVE searched and read all similar posts . I think I understand the move , and I do practice every time I ride , attempting varying speeds , uphill / downhill , pulling up , or starting with a few pedals , but Goddamnit , it just ain't happening . No progression , no common cause of failure , very frustrating .

By the way I ride 26" ( shown in sig ) with flat bars - yes , risers would help but surely I can get at least like 5 meters with my setup ? Am I just never gonna get the holy grail of smooth riding ? Any tips ?

Edited by Endohopper

Best advice I could give you is to watch some BMX videos. Check out any rider who rides brakeless particularly and you'll see the perfect technique slightly exagerated. As Krisboats said, it's all about keeping the perfect balance point by shifting your weight forwards and back while using your knees to sort out left/right. I've always found it easiest to do them on a slight downhill, that way you can afford to use the brake a bit more without losing too much momentum.

Dave

edit: try

At the end of the day, you probably know the correct technique, it's just a case of keep practising and you should get there.

Edited by monkeyseemonkeydo

By the sounds of thisgs i do it the same way as pauloliver. keep low. arms fully extended is usually the easiest way & wen the bike starts to dip, instead of pedalling like in a normal wheelie, pump your legs to full extention (like you're kicking the bike out from underneath you) & as it rises to high, pull yourself back in towards the bike.

I'm shite at explaining techniques but i hope it helps.